Maharashtra Gram Panchayat Election Results 2021 LIVE updates: Counting underway amid tight security

The counting of votes for the Maharashtra Gram Panchayat election results began on Monday morning at 9 am amid tight security. The polling for the 12,711 gram panchayats spread across 34 districts in Maharashtra took place on Friday.

The polling for the Maharashtra Gram Panchayat polls saw an average 79 per cent voting on Friday, State Election Commissioner UPS Madan said.

The polling was held for 1,25,709 seats, for which nominations had been received from 3,56,221 candidates.

The gram panchayats are considered the third tier of governance. Elections for them are not held on party lines, using party symbols. Candidates are allotted election symbols from a list of free symbols.

Follow Maharashtra Gram Panchayat Election Results 2021 live updates here:

11.06: A look at the Gram Panchayats where counting is underway: Thane (158), Palghar (3), Raigad (88), Ratnagiri (479), Sindhudurg (70), Nashik (620), Dhule (218), Jalgaon (783), Ahmednagar (767), Nandurbar (86), Pune (748), Solapur (658), Satara (879), Sangli (152), Kolhapur (433), Aurangabad (618), Beed (129), Nanded (1,015), Osmanabad (428), Parbhani (566), Jalna (475), Latur (408), Hingoli (495), Amravati (553), Akola (225), Yavatmal (980), Washim (152), Buldhana (527), Nagpur (130), Wardha (50), Chandrapur (629), Bhandara (148), Gondia (189) and Gadchiroli (362)

10.55 am: The gram panchayat polls are being held more than a month after the ruling MVAs victory in the graduates’ and teachers’ constituencies in the Legislative Council elections that took place late last year.

10.05 am: A total of 2,41,598 candidates were in the race post scrutiny and withdrawal of nominations. As many as 26,718 of these candidates faced no rivals, so they would be declared elected unopposed, the SEC said in a statement.

9.00 am: The counting for Maharashtra Gram Panchayat Election Results 2021 begins with tight security in place.

ALSO READ | Why villages in Maharashtra are auctioning off sarpanch posts?

ALSO READ | Uttar Pradesh panchayat election: After AAP, Shiv Sena joins the fray in BJP-ruled state

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *