UFC Fight Island 7 loses ‘Prelims’ headliner in final hours


UFC Fight Island 7 will be down one fight later today (Sat., Jan. 16, 2021) on ABC/ESPN+ as a “Prelims” headliner between Phil Hawes and Nassourdine Imavov has been scratched, per a report by RT Sport.

At this time there is no reason for the last-minute scratch, which now brings UFC Fight Island 7’s total fight count from 11 to 10.

Hawes, 32, made his Octagon debut last October and ended up destroying Jacob Malkoun in just 18 seconds. The former Dana White Contender Series standout was hoping to rise the middleweight ranks in 2021 with a staple win to begin the year, but will now have to wait a little longer for his second Octagon appearance.

Imavov, 25, also made a successful Octagon debut this past October with a decision win over Jordan Williams at UFC Fight Island 4. The towering striker has won six straight and was hoping to pull off the upset over “Megatron” and launch his name into the mix of top prospects to watch in 2021.

Check out the updated UFC Fight Island 7 lineup below:

Main Card (ABC/ESPN+)
3:00 p.m. ET / 12:00 p.m. PT

Max Holloway vs. Calvin Kattar

Carlos Condit vs. Matt Brown

Santiago Ponzinibbio vs. Li Jingliang

Joaquin Buckley vs. Alessio Di Chirico

Punahele Soriano vs. Dusko Todorovic

‘Prelims’ Undercard (ESPN+)
12:00 p.m. ET / 9:00 a.m. PT

Wu Yanan vs. Joselyne Edwards

Carlos Felipe vs. Justin Tafa

David Zawada vs. Ramazan Emeev

Sarah Moras vs. Vanessa Melo

Jacob Kilburn vs. Austin Lingo

MMAmania.com will deliver LIVE round-by-round, blow-by-blow coverage of the entire UFC Fight Island 7 fight card RIGHT HERE, starting with the ESPN+ “Prelims” matches at 12 p.m. ET, then the remaining main card balance on ESPN+ and ABC at 3 p.m. ET.

For more UFC Fight Island 7 fight card news click here.





Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *