India vs Australia 4th Test Live Cricket Score: Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur Strike Early To Put Aus On Backfoot

IND vs AUS, 4th Test Live Score, Day 1: Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur Strike Early To Put Aus On Backfoot

IND vs AUS Live: India celebrate a dismissal against Australia on Day 1 of the 4th Test.© AFP

India have put in a fine start against Australia on Day 1 of the fourth and final Test match, at The Gabba in Brisbane with the score tied at 1-1. The hosts won the toss and elected to bat. Mohammed Siraj registered the early crucial wicket of David Warner, who hasn’t really found his footing in the series. Meanwhile, Marcus Harris lost his wicket to Shardul Thakur. Ravichandran Ashwin and Jasprit Bumrah won’t feature in the fixture due to injuries, and have been replaced by T Natarajan and Washington Sundar. Ashwin and Bumrah’s absence adds to India’s growing list of injuries already consisting of KL Rahul, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Hanuma Vihari and Ravindra Jadeja. For Australia, Marcus Harris has replaced Will Pucovski. The hosts haven’t won a Test match at the Gabba since West Indies beat them in Brisbane in 1988, and India have never tasted success there, with a draw in 2003 the best they have fared. Both teams will be looking to seal the hotly contested series with a win, but even a draw would see the series tied and the Border-Gavaskar trophy retained by the visitors. (LIVE SCORECARD)


4th Test, Day 1 LIVE UPDATES Between Australia (AUS) vs India (IND), Straight From The Gabba, Brisbane

  • 06:32 (IST)


    Thakur pitches another full delivery, outside off. Smith goes forward and drives it through square cover for a four!

  • 06:31 (IST)


    Thakur bowls a full delivery, on middle and off. Smith smacks it away to the right of wide mid-on for a four!

  • 06:27 (IST)

    One run

    Natarajan sends a full delivery, on off stump. Smith drives it through cover point for a single.

  • 06:20 (IST)

    One run

    Back of a length by Natarajan, across the stumps. Labuschagne shuffles and sends it wide of mid-on for a single. One run.

  • 06:14 (IST)

    OUT!!! Marcus Harris c Washington Sundar b Shardul Thakur 5 (23)

    Thakur sends a inswinger, down leg. Harris glances it to Sundar at square leg. WHAT WAS HE EVEN DOING?

    Australia lose both openers now. In comes, Steve Smith,

  • 06:05 (IST)

    One run

    Siraj pitches it back of a length, into the stumps. Labuschagne glances it to long leg for a single.

  • 05:59 (IST)

    One run

    A full delivery by Natarajan, into middle and leg. Harris guides it to long leg for a single.

  • 05:55 (IST)


    A short delivery by Siraj, into leg stump. Labuschagne waits and pulls it in the gap between square leg and long leg for a four!

  • 05:50 (IST)

    No run

    A full ball by Natarajan, angling into middle stump. Harris drives it towards mid-on, where Saini dives to stop it.

  • 05:44 (IST)

    Four leg byes

    Siraj sends it down leg, not good length. It goes off the thigh pad of Labuschagne towards the boundary. Four leg byes.

  • 05:42 (IST)

    No run

    A fuller delivery by Natarajan, wider. It swings away and too wide for Harris. No run.

  • 05:37 (IST)

    OUT! David Warner c Rohit Sharma b Mohammed Siraj 1 (4)


    An excellent length by Siraj, slanting across on off stump. Warner goes for it, but is totally clueless about it. It goes to Rohit. He dives in from second slip, in front of the first slip.

    In comes, Marnus Labuschagne.

  • 05:33 (IST)

    Three runs

    Siraj bowls a full delivery, outside off. Harris goes forward to push it into the cover point region. Three runs.

  • 05:32 (IST)

    One run

    A full delivery by Siraj, towards off stump. Warner flicks it to the left of midwicket for a single.

  • 05:30 (IST)

    The action begins!

    David Warner and Marcus Harris will open the innings for Australia. Mohammed Siraj will bowl the first over for India.

  • 05:24 (IST)

    National anthems!

    Both teams have lined up for their respective national anthems now! Few more minutes to go!

  • 05:15 (IST)

    Should be a good pitch to bat: Tim Paine

    After winning the toss and electing to bat, Australia captain Tim Paine said, “It’s a bit dry and you can see a few cracks already, but should be a good pitch to bat for the first two days.”

  • 05:14 (IST)

    Don’t want to think too far ahead: Ajinkya Rahane

    After losing the toss, stand-in captain Ajinkya Rahane said, “This is a big rivalry for us. We don’t want to think too far ahead, just want to start well.”

    This is infact a big rivalry, and the third Test match proved it so!

  • 05:06 (IST)

    Here are the playing XIs

    Australia: David Warner, Marcus Harris, Marnus Labuschagne, Steven Smith, Matthew Wade, Cameron Green, Tim Paine, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood

    India: Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Mayank Agarwal, Rishabh Pant, Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Navdeep Saini, Mohammed Siraj, T Natarajan

  • 05:02 (IST)

    Australia win the toss, elect to bat!

    Australia captain Tim Paine has won the toss, and opted to bat!

  • 05:01 (IST)

    Watch: Washington Sundar handed cap no. 301 by Ravichandran Ashwin

    Well, even Washington Sundar will make his Test debut! The 21-year-old will be gunning for glory and probably prove his selection to everyone!

  • 04:59 (IST)

    T Natarajan makes his debut, handed Cap no. 300: Watch

    Pacer Natarajan is set to make his Test debut and has been handed the cap no. 300. Can the SunRisers Hyderabad (SRH) pacer put in a good show?

  • 04:55 (IST)

    Good morning and welcome everyone!

    Good morning and welcome everyone to our live coverage of Day 1 of the fourth Test match between Australia vs India, in Brisbane. Its 4:54 am IST in the Indian subcontinent, and Indian cricket fans will be hoping for another cracker! The series is level at 1-1, and both teams will be hoping to edge past each other in the series decider from today onwards!

Topics mentioned in this article

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *